So you want to bleach and color your locs?

Red and Proud

Red and Proud

Let me be first to say that I’m not a “loctician” or some glorified loc guru. No…nonono, no. I’m a frugalista if you haven’t learned by now. A DIY-er, a crafter, a….broke women, don’t you know. THEREFORE, I must do things on my own while upholding a certain quality for my professional career. Understand where I’m coming from? Okay. Let’s get to it.

1) Go to your local beauty supply store and ask to be directed to the aisle with the bleaching agent. If they don’t know what you’re talking about, you may want to find another associate, lol! Other terms, such as color-stripping or lifting the color may also be useful. I have multiple bleaching products: some in powders where you mix with other stuff, agents that come already mixed, yada yada. I opt for anything that is already mixed because, simply put, I’m lazy. Also, not that I could not adequately mix the product, but this will also help with consistency if it is already packaged this way. Afterwards, pick that bright color you wanted. After all, if you wanted a hint or tint of color or dyeing your locs a darker color you wouldn’t be reading this post, right? I hope so. Once you got this step completed go to the next. Note: It would be AWESOME if you could purchase a hooded dryer from Wal-mart (it would be cheaper than getting one from the beauty supply store). Believe me, it comes in handy with those who have (or have not) locs.

2) Go ahead and prep your locs and your bathroom because it’s about to get messy. I’m not about to repeat everything over, so you might to read up my post “Dying to Dye: Tips for Dyeing Locs“. Yep.

3) Follow the instructions  with the bleaching agent to the T. Just that simple. Believe me, it’s not as scary as you think.

4) Apply the color, follow the instructions. My favorite product so far is the one I said in my post “Dyeing Your Locs Red“. Put on a shower cap, let it set for 15-30 minutes, preferably under a hooded dryer as stated before.

Bright, including that thumb in the picture.

Bright, including that thumb in the picture.

Covered wet, freshly dyed locs in a t-shirt wrap.

Covered wet, freshly dyed locs in a t-shirt wrap.
The back of the T-shirt Wrap

The back of the T-shirt Wrap

Bright red locs, ladies and gents.

Bright red locs, ladies and gents.

The dryer is not a pleasant experience for me. It appeared to be drying more than my locs.

The dryer is not a pleasant experience for me. It appeared to be drying more than my locs.

Front of T-Shirt Wrap

Front of T-Shirt Wrap

~ by My4tress on December 20, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
