I am P!SSED!!!!! My Locs are Thinning

FrustrationYO! DUDE! WTF! and whatever new slang kids are saying nowadays.  Basically, @*%&#!!! I am FURIOUS!!! At first I had noticed, then I worried, then I was unsuccessful, now I am furious!!!! My locs…in the front….are thin…like balding thin…like I’m touching patches of skin thin. Before motherhood, my front was good. I had problems here and there, but overall–good. Let’s fast forward to me finding out was pregnant in May 2011. I was awesome. I had the motherhood glow going on and my hair was just growing out the wazoo. Again, awesome. Let’s fast forward again, but this time after my daughter was born. The only disappointment I had at this time was that my weight did not melt off like it was supposed to because I had that dern C-section. I say 6 months later (about June 2012), the joys of motherhood (I am being sarcastic by the way) kicks in. I notice that my hair has thinned out more than the previous year (not to mention my little one has pulled out a couple of locs in the front). In September 2012, I was like “Whoa, but I got this. I can do it.” Pssbbbbbt. Yeah, whatever. NOW, my poor locs are barely holding on in the front. Shut the front door or burn it one, because I’m ticked. When I first started my blog in like what 2010 (2009? I’m getting older) ANYWAY, I was like queen mother-freaking guru when people came to me with the thinning problem, like “Yes, my child, thinning comes and goes. You must be one with your locs and repair it through natural, essential oils and do this and do that…” BULL****. I’m not saying that it doesn’t work, but now….NOW that I have experienced the urgency and the concern that these people have came to me with this, I can hear and see the frustration in their emails and posts. Just a side note, if at any point I appeared insensitive or as if I didn’t understand how you felt, please…PLEASEPLEASEPLEASEPLEASE forgive me. What’s that saying? You never know how it is until you walked a mile in someone’s shoes? Well ladies and gents, I have felt I have ran–not walked–a marathon. And I’m TiReD. I’m tired of my locs looking discombobulated. I hope I spelled that right, because I’m too “tight” (as my old New York friend used to say) to even bother using spell check. My left front lobe is aching, I’m slumped in a chair, looking at my soon to be 2 year old daughter with thick, full, delicious hair. Yes, I said delicious, hair. Frizz and all.  I will pull myself together eventually and do what I always do: find a solution on a budget. But until then, I’m setting this keyboard on fire to vent my frustration. Thanks for listening.

While I’m at it, I’m going to let you guys see my 2012 pics and maybe later I’ll upload my 2013 pics.

September 2012

September 2012

September 2012

September 2012

~ by My4tress on December 19, 2013.

2 Responses to “I am P!SSED!!!!! My Locs are Thinning”

  1. Girrrrrrllll … I was in that same predicament. When I was expecting, my hair hit a growth spurt just like yours did … and hung for for a good little while, too! Then, mine started thinning close to the end of 2012 and looked like it was getting worse as 2013 progressed. I did read somewhere that once your hormones start to settle back into their skin again, some women might start to experience a little thinning of the hair, so I thought I’d ride it out and it’d eventually correct itself … uh-uh – no go. I don’t know of anything that will help it, definitely, but I read somewhere that Jamaican Black Castor Oil is good for thinning areas of the hair and scalp as well as taking Biotin and other vitamins known to improve the hair in some shape, form, or fashion. I used the oil for a while and it helped a little, but I guess I was looking for that “put this on tonight and tomorrow you won’t see not one piece of scalp through your hair” remedy. So, I stopped using that; but with continuous use, it probably would have restored my hair to the point where any hair that was lost would’ve returned.

    I eventually just combed my locs out (yes, my seven-year-old locs that were almost halfway down my back 😦 ), babied my hair for a few months with cowashes, homemade water and oil hair sprays, and protective styles (I wore flat twists ALL the time and eventually my hair started to forget what a comb felt and looked like unless it was wash day) until my hair had thickened back up again, and then I loced it back up. This time I put in thicker dreadlocks instead of my “micro braid-sized” ones like I used to have. I’m also going to change up my maintenance routine: not twisting my new growth too tight and not “crocheting” my new growth to try and avoid any and all things that may have contributed to my hair thinning out.

    I have confidence that you’ll find a sure-fire solution for it, short of doing what I did and taking them out and starting over again. I wish you all the luck in the world and if you do discover the “miracle juice”, please let me know so I can keep it tuck away in the back of my mind in case I experience the same thing again *knock on wood*. 🙂

  2. You can try scalp massages with Jamaican black castor oil and stop twisting! You may want to buy a wig and give your loc’s a rest while treating hair and scalp. Are you drinking enough water???? vitamins E,C,B12 and lots of water both drinking and spraying with essential oils. You check out my blog as well for some solutions and recipes. Hope this helps.

Leave a Reply

 
