Dyeing Your Locs Red

This is the exact red I used for my current color.

I’ve ALWAYS loved burgundy as a hair color. Red has also grown on me a lot since especially since Rihanna has been wearing it like the diva she is. So, you guys, I’m not longer honey blonde. I’m now a Redhead. I really love it, but word of caution. Red haircolor fades so much faster than other colors. I kid you not. That is not a myth and is very much true. Alright, alright, I’ve finished babbling. Let’s get to it. If you haven’t read my other blog post for “Tips for Dyeing Locs” then you may want to check it before you actually dye your locs because the information on this post is just a brief overview of what I did to get the red color.

To begin, if you hair color is dark you may have to lift your color.  They have products that lift your hair color in beauty stores, but since I’m not a hairdresser (lol) and don’t want to mix chemicals that I’m not familiar with I’ve chose another method. I was already honey blonde for a while. So really, my haircolor was already lifted. The product I used for this “lift” was the Clairol Honey Blonde.

Afterwards, you can use a dye of your choice. I used “Creative Image Adore 68 Crimson.” Which was absolutely awesome. It wasn’t a fire truck red, but a deep red. The picture of the dye I used is in the first picture of this post. I purchased it from the beauty supply store and believe it or not, it is significantly cheaper than the Clairol–like $3 cheaper! They have multiple shades of red, too. SO… follow the instructions for dyeing.  Now, what I’ve learned from a hairdresser to set the haircolor is directly after dyeing your dreads, put on a shower cap and sit under a hood dryer for 15 to 30 minutes. If you don’t have one, get one. It’s like $30 bucks from Wal-Mart–$29.97 to be exact. It’s collapsible so it doesn’t take up space (see pic below).

Hood Dryer in collapsed and open positions. I actually have this hood dryer 🙂

The Results

1st Trimester Preggers & Honey Blonde

After-baby & Redhead (this is 2-3 months after my locs were dyed)

~ by My4tress on September 18, 2012.

6 Responses to “Dyeing Your Locs Red”

  1. Both colours suite you like a dream! Thanks for sharing your tips on lightening. I’ve been researching how to get red hair for months now and I’m tempted by your tip on going blonde first (never tried it) but as red is almost impossible to get on black hair, wouldn’t blonde be as difficult or did you bleach before going blonde? Or is it that blonde box dyes contain bleach anyway?

    Much appreciated,

    NL

    • Hello! I am so sorry that it took me so long to respond!! Great question! Actually going blonde was SO much easier than going red!! I just just used the Clairol Honey Blonde and that was it! No bleaching needed to go honey blonde because it already includes a lightening agent.

      • While waiting for your response I tried out the dark and lovely lightener pack and found it worked really well without using the lightening agent. And just like you the adore has lasted a while. I’d assume the same would happen with the cream of natural which I also bought. Thanks for the info anyway.

        NL

      • Oh cool! That’s good to know. I didn’t know about that. Hmm… I may try using that the next time!

  2. I have tried several times to dye my hair red. The only difference is that I used dark and lovely go intense black in my hair. I had it for about two months now and I wanted red locs. I tried honey blond from the same brand and golden blond. Nothing works and this is my first time using dye in my locs. How many dyes is needed to strip my locs from the intense black color and how many dyes is needed to get red locs?

  3. […] the color, follow the instructions. My favorite product so far is the one I said in my post “Dyeing Your Locs Red“. Put on a shower cap, let it set for 15-30 minutes, preferably under a hooded dryer as […]

Leave a Reply

 
