Question & Answers

=================================================================================
Q: I’m black and thinking about dreading my own hair. At the moment, I have a lock it up gel that I plan on using. I’ve done a little research and everyone says you should wet your hair while twisting or backcoming it. How does wet hair affect the initial dreading process? If I decide to twist mine with dry hair, will it damage my hair?

My Answer:

1) Who told you that your hair has to be wet? lol.
(2) Using gel or oils is just fine. You don’t have to pack on gel, though. If anything, your hair being too wet will cause the strands to unravel while you are twisting or encourage breaking during backcombing.
(3) Wetness can actually inhibit the hairs from meshing properly because the hair becomes soft. That is why they encourage you to not wash your hair for a few weeks.
(4) Drying twisting your hair with a little gel is fine. I wouldn’t recommend your hair being unmoisturized (meaning, your hair shouldn’t be fried, overdried, or brittle).

=================================================================================
Q: What the fastest way to grow dreadlocks?

My Answer:

It’s not a particular way to grow your hair “quickly.” This decides on your own biological hair growth rate; everyone’s is slightly different. However, proper maintenance is what gives you long, healthy locs. The better you take care of your scalp, root, and locs the better off your locs will be (and it then it will seem like your hair is growing really fast, lol).

=================================================================================
Q: My question to you, can anyone start latching at any stage of there ocks? Take me, I’ve been loc’d for 29 months it will be 3 years come December, could I start latching? And final question, do you do a 3 pt or 4 pt rotation? Will you ever do a vid showing how to latch?

My Answer:

As far as your questions:

(1) I think people can start latching at any stage. The reason I say this is because I started my locs with the TST and palm-rolled. However, in November 2009 I started to interlock my locs and have been hooked every since. Basically, I interlock where is it matches the width of the lock; it’s not too tight or too loose. I think the most important thing to consider when changing methods is making sure there is a drastic change in the pattern of your locs. You want it where the size is consistent throughout the whole lock. You don’t want it to be loose/thicker at the root to the middle of the lock and thin/tight the rest of the way. The other way around would not look bad (tight at the root and thicker at the ends; this would like your locs are budding at the end). You have to play around with it a little bit to see what works. Believe me, it was just luck on the first try with me; not to mention, I experimented on the locs on the bottom and the back of my head.

(2) I’m not familiar with the 3- or 4- point rotation, lol. I just twist/palm-roll my locs in the same direction. Sometimes I pin them, sometimes I don’t, lol. That’s about it.

(3) I might show a vid on how to latch if I can learn how to do it without messing up my loc pattern. 😉 Good idea for a video, lol. Thanx!

=================================================================================

Q: so yea, im black (incase relevant)…but i jus got my hair twisted for dreads n ive been hearing that spraying a mixture of warm water, lemon juice, n salt on ur dreads helps with the locking process.

My answer:

I’ve never used salt in my hair. Just so you know, salt isn’t the greatest for you locs, lol. It’s just like when you sweat after a workout or go to the beach you must wash your hair because of the salt. Now, I have heard of lemon juice and honey. I’ve used this concoction, but I didn’t see any big improvement/increase in locking my dreads. I just used regular gel, twisted them, pinned/clipped the dreads down, spray a little holding spray, and cover my hair with satin scarf/bonnet/cap to keep hair from catching and unraveling.

…oh yeah, just b/c ur black doesn’t change anything, hun. lol 😉

=================================================================================

Q: i have dreads and i put beeswax to start my dreads and now when i get my hair wet it turns white where i put in the beeswax at im not cutting my hair or taking out my dreads so do this work or do you know what will

 

If you have any more questions, feel free to email me 😀

**I keep names/usernames anonymous so no one will feel embarrassed or exposed….unless the Q&A is on a public website such as Yahoo! Answers.  (^_^)

~ by My4tress on May 17, 2010.

5 Responses to “Question & Answers”

  1. Im African and u jus got my hair twisted if I do sports and sweat will it mess up my hair?

  2. My dreads are thining in the middle and some out rightly break away.I started with bees wax 2 n half years ago.now I have stopped .I only shampoo and oil but the beeswax of old greatly affected me.the hair looks nice but I feel its unhealthy cos of the breakage. I Palm roll about once a month myself and do nothing else in between,just keeping my hair moisturised.I love my hair,pls help…what do I do about these thinning locks. And hair loss?

  3. need help with my locs it is thining and i think i have alopecia

    • I recommend getting your condition diagnosed by your doctor first and see what they recommend. I don’t have a post directly related to Alopecia, but I do have one regarding eczema . I also have a post on thinning locs you could skim through. I am trying out a new remedy, but I don’t know if it will work! I will post results though!

Leave a Reply

 
