Using Dual-Type Twisting: Palm-rolling & Interlocking

I used to think that I would never interlock for two reasons: (1) I thought it took much time (2) I was native to only palm-rolling. It appeared interesting and tempting at the same time. Why? Because you didn’t have to worry about your locs unraveling at the root….or at all, for that matter. However, I did not want to worry about the texture of my locs changing or run the risk having little bumpy knots from inaccurately interlocking. So why the change of heart you ask? Well, I shall tell you why (very short story, actually). One afternoon, I was riding back from another county with a couple of coworkers. While they were yacking on their phones, the slightly irritable-from-hunger My4tress needed something to dwindle time away while she waited for the stoplight to change for the turning lane in 5 o’clock traffic (instead of twiddling my thumbs).  I subconsciously started playing with my locs of course. Next thing you know, I was weaving the root (interlocking) the back locs. They’re usually the ones to unravel at the root much quicker than the rest of my locs. As I felt for what I’ve done, I realized that I did it pretty well; no lumpy knots. I rolled the loc in one direction to see how it would’ve looked/felt if I palm-rolled the interlocked part later. No difference. Hmm! I was quite pleased. So I learned that if you do not interlock too tightly and not in the same direction, you have a nice result that will not change even if you palm roll later. You want to interlock as closely as possible to the already locked part of your locs. However, if you did it incorrectly, you will end of with:

 

(1) separated roots

 

 

 

 

 

 

(2) if palm-rolled, a twisted part

 

  

 

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

(3) a hole in the middle of your loc.  (I put a q-tip inside of the hole so you could identify it easier.)

    

FYI: Interlocking becomes addictive when your hands are idle or if you don’t have nothing to do (lol) and doesn’t take as long as you think.

Next thing you know, all of my locs have been interlocked. So, I washed my hair just last week expected to roll some roots, when I looked at the mirror and barely saw any puffiness (a sign of a root(s) needing retwisting). That saved me a lot of time. 🙂

(I’m going to try to do a vid on interlocking; however, letting you know now that I’m not an expert interlocker, lol.)

~ by My4tress on November 25, 2009.

12 Responses to “Using Dual-Type Twisting: Palm-rolling & Interlocking”

  1. I may have to look into interlocking.

  2. Great advise, i will try this dual technique on my locs.

  3. Hey Sis!! I was thinking of you the other day! Glad to see ya back and hope that things are OK.

    Of course I’m biased when I say this but interlocking/latching is great. “Nat’s Journey into Lockdom” has a post on how to fix holes in your locs as well as DynamicRunner I think is her name on YouTube and she has a blog too named kalia-dewdrop. I used Nat’s post to help me fix one that was in my locs. Now you can’t even tell.

  4. Hi I’ve been a fan of DynamicRunner for quite a while now. She is very informative and replies to emails. She combined her locks and created “two-headed dragons” then cut the extra “head” off. This created a lighter weight and more movement. I followed this as my sisterlocks were way too thin. But instead of cutting my dragons, I twisted them together and created thicker locks which I will allow to “freeform” for about six months them palm roll/twist the new growth. I am searching for any ideas or maintenance tips.

    Any advice is welcomed and I shall try and video my progress if I can get my computer to behave lol!!!

    Eve

  5. I’m going to Shaggylocs from YouTube Sunday and he is suppose to be a great interlocker. My locks stay fuzzy and i think/hope interlocking is the way to go for me

    YouTube links:

    One of his links
    http://www.youtube.com/user/shaggylocs7#p/a/u/2/sqGddVMSV4o

  6. Did you notice a difference in the look of the loc? My first set of locs were only palm rolled and I loved the nice fat cylinder that was created from the palm rolling my locs. My new set, the loctician is using a dual method of finger lactching the locs and then palm rolling. I’m nervous that I won’t have the nice swelling of the locs and a that nice cylinder look that I get with the palm rolling method. Am I worrying too much about this?

    • Nope! Worrying about how your locs tell me that not only are you concerned with your appearance, but the appearance and wellbeing of your locs. At first, I thought that there would be two different textures; however, if it is done correctly (i.e., not tightly, matching the width of the loc, not interlocking/looping in the same hole/direction) the loc will remain uniform with minor differences. Over time, the hair will still lock pretty much the same. Even with interlocking, I still palm-roll stray hairs. You’re good!

  7. I was thinking about switching over to having mines palm rolled because I like the neatness look of the dread, but I was told not to switch back and forth between palm rolling and interlocking. I only had it palm rolled one time in the beginning, and the end of Jan will make it a year that I have been locking it. I love me hair but I want the frizziness gone. I normally just cut the frizzy off and I don’t think that is the best way to fix it. I do you palm roll the stray hairs and should I just stay with the interlocking?

    • I do both! It’s an art to making sure you interlock and palm roll to the same consistency. I interlock to make sure the root is neat and then, say for instance I wash my hair later in the week or month, I would palm roll to tackle the frizziness. Cutting the frizziness can thin the lock so I would avoid doing this. Remember, do what works for you. It’s good to take advice from others, but you should test the waters yourself. If you’re afraid, just test it out on one lock in the back 😉

Leave a Reply

 
