Organic/Natural Products for Locs

DSCI0079Did I tell you what I’ve been up to lately? I have been trying out new oils. Yessiree, Bob! (I know that was corny, shut up). Sometimes the best products are the most natural ones. Yeah, twist and lock gel is good, but what about products such as shea butter or peppermint oil? (I’m still making my way towards these products). They have an extensive amount of benefits and fairly inexpensive! So far this is what I’ve tried out:

  • Coconut Oil: Very light, softens the root and locs. Great for locs. It is also great for skin (on a clean face, I applied the coconut oil to my whole face, let it sit for like 15-20 minutes, wash off with soap and water, and use facial moisturizer. My face was so soft!).
  • Vegetable Oil: Don’t give me that look. I needed something quick because the coconut oil was solid and I didn’t want to wait for it to melt and I ran out of my herbal oil. SO I used vegetable oil…  Maaaaaan, why didn’t I use this stuff sooner?? It’s great! My locs soaked it all up and it was fairly light. My locs softer and the oil took away ashiness pronto!

SUGAR SWEET SHINE ON (from http://sadiemagazine.com/)
Tangle Free Shine Booster
Fine or oily hair needs conditioning too, just of a lighter weight and involving few oils and creamy mixtures. If your hair is fine or oily and damaged, using the recipes for damaged hair before a gentle shampoo should help, but to boost shine and prevent tangles, try these:
What You Will Need:
• 1 bag peppermint tea
• 1 cup boiling water
• 1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar
Another “hair tea.” Steep the tea for ten minutes in boiling water, add the apple cider vinegar, and allow to cool. A plastic spray bottle will make even distribution easy. Spray onto the hair, comb through, and rinse with cool water.

 

=========================================================================

~ by My4tress on September 7, 2009.

10 Responses to “Organic/Natural Products for Locs”

  1. i used shea butter for the first time today on my daughter and boyfriend’s loc; i think i found what i will use forever…nothing but natural products.

  2. I just started back using shea butter mixed with coconut oil on my locs.

  3. Hey Girl, Yasmine from Natural Diva World checkin in! Those locs are lookin lovely. As far as veggie oil is concerned…..was always curious to see if it would work on locs. i tried olive oil (pre locking days but still natural at the time) and it made my scalp itch like crazy until i rinsed it out. but i like the idea of shae butter and coconut oil mixed together.

  4. Hello everyone,
    I think it is a good idea to watch several tutorials on youtube, I did but not only did I watch them, I did a little research on the essential oils that are really excellent such as: Peppermint, tree tea oil(Austrian), rosemary(do not when you are pregnant),basil, sage,carrot and lavender. Just to name a few, plus people when you make these mixture make sure you add a few drops of either peppermint, or tree tea oil these two oils are especially a natural preservative. The oils will prevent growth of microorganisms in your product. Natural oils you could use is almond oil, grapeseed oil, virgin olive oil, Jojoba oil, and hemp seed oil. 100% Aloe Vera Gel is excellent, but must keep refrigerated after it is opened. Check out the website (IHerbs.com) for these various oils. Butter-n-Bars.com is a good place to start. I tried, and mixed my butters(Mango,unrefined shea butter, organic cocoa butter). Bee careful of coconut oil in the summer, insects are attractive to the coconut(bees). I hope that helps, remember if you use the essential oils use 5-10 drops.

  5. has anyone ever used henna on their locs?

Leave a Reply

 
