Problems/Solutions: Unraveling Locs

Young LocsIt happens to the best of us: unraveling locs. Whether it’s at your root or your ends, it’s a hassle. What to do, what to do?! How can I lock my locs if they don’t stay together?! You’re right, it’s going to be difficult if your root unravels or the ends unravel. But before we dive in, be aware that this happens to just any type of locs (exception: those who use the latch method and such). This is especially true if you have younger locs. Don’t fret, my pet… Your locs will lock if you persevere. Let’s get to it:

  • Tie your hair up nightly or during idle time at home with a satin scarf. Be sure to sleep on a satin pillowcase if you don’t have or don’t want to use a scarf (but I highly recommend using one!).
  • I’m sure you have read this throughout my blog. Don’t use, what? That’s right. Don’t use petroleum/petrolatum products to twist yours locs. It will attract lent, dust, dirt and whatever else and mix with the product. This will create a buildup. Clean locs lock quicker than dirty ones.
  • Beginner locs: do not wash your locs as frequently. The minimum, once a month. Heck, bi-weekly if you’re careful.  But before you let a lick of loc touch any water, put on a stocking cap. I have instructions washing on washing your locs in my other posts (loc maintence, starting your locs).
  • After washing, do not vigorously towel-dry your hair. Blot and squeeze. Pin or clip your locs after twisting.
  • Be sure to twist/palm-roll your locs teh same way every time. Doing otherwise will just undo the process.
  • Don’t scratch wildly scratch your scalp. If you must, be conscious of where you are scratching and do it as little as possible.
  • You may want to get a water bottle to spray water, oil, moisturizer, or whatever on your scalp. This especially useful when your locs and/or scalp is dry, when your head is itchy, et cetera. Also, using the spray bottle will mist the product on your locs rather than you using your hands to slather it on.
  • Believe or not, dying your hair will assist in locking your locs. Please, don’t dye your hair as a desperate attempt to get your hair to loc. Do it because you want color.
  • Some people put rubberbands on the ends of their locs to keep them from unraveling; however, if you are not careful, it will pull hair out of the locs.
  • I used a little hair glue to keep my ends from unraveling. (I got this tip while sitting in court with a client, lol). At first, all is well. On the other hand, as weeks go by, little beads of hair glue started to appear everywhere! It helped out, but what a pain…
  • If your ends are unraveling and you have more mature locs, maintain the split as two different locs (even if they are attached to the original loc). If the split goes to the root, retwist the root and follow the tips above and other loc maitenance. Or if you want, combine with another loc.
  • [update 8.7.10] Or you could use hair glue:
  • Email me some of your tips I would love to post them! Don’t worry. I’ll give you the credit! Email me at: locd4life@yahoo.com
~ by My4tress on August 14, 2009.

4 Responses to “Problems/Solutions: Unraveling Locs”

  1. I started my sisterlocks about two months now and the ends keeps unraveling my loctrition suggested she use glue to hold them , I was sceptic but you helped to ease my mind. THANKS a million.

  2. thanks love!!!!

Leave a Reply

 
