Problems/Solutions: Locs and Eczema (ACV rinse & EVO)

Itchy ScalpI got this tip from Ms. Kat (sorry, she moved the article). I, too, have Eczema (click for explanation) and it can be a pain when you have locs. Seriously, you do not want to be scratching out your locs because of this condition. According to Ms. Kat’s blog, she used EVO (extra virgin olive oil). First, she washed her hair and then used the EVO. Each washing she used an apple-cider rinse, shampoo, then the EVO weekly for a month. Although my Eczema is contained, I just might start doing this so I can have a healthy scalp! Way to go, Ms. Kat!

Here are a few different recipes for the ACV (apple-cider vinegar) rinse:

  • Recipe #1 (least potent):  1/2 tablespoon to each cup of water.
  • Recipe #2 (moderate):  1 cup apple-cider vinegar and 1 cup of water.
  • Recipe #3 (potent):  Use the apple-cider vinegar as is (simple, right?)
  • Recipe #4 (variant): Apple-cider rinse mixed with oil.

Don’t worry about the smell. After a rinse or two, the smell will go away. I’ve done this once before and I did not smell like potato salad for long (just kidding!). I rinsed my hair and it went away. Plus, shampooing afterwards will kill the smell. You can pour it over your locs while hovering over the sink or do it in the shower. I’m lazy, I wash my locs and do these things in the shower. I would probably use the oil while in the sink, though. Don’t want to slip and bust my head open in the tub! Some claim that after using the rinse their locs are softer, shiner, no dandruff, et cetera. So give it a try! (Mine felt about the same, but I didn’t have any dandruff) On top of using EVO, also try other oils such as peppermint or almond. I’ll be trying these soon!

=================================================================================
Recipe #5 (9.10.09)
SUGAR SWEET SHINE ON (from http://sadiemagazine.com/)
Tangle Free Shine Booster
Fine or oily hair needs conditioning too, just of a lighter weight and involving few oils and creamy mixtures. If your hair is fine or oily and damaged, using the recipes for damaged hair before a gentle shampoo should help, but to boost shine and prevent tangles, try these:
What You Will Need:
• 1 bag peppermint tea
• 1 cup boiling water
• 1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar
Another “hair tea.” Steep the tea for ten minutes in boiling water, add the apple cider vinegar, and allow to cool. A plastic spray bottle will make even distribution easy. Spray onto the hair, comb through, and rinse with cool water.

~ by My4tress on August 6, 2009.

9 Responses to “Problems/Solutions: Locs and Eczema (ACV rinse & EVO)”

  1. Heyyyyyy!!! Thanks for shouting out my blog! Yes it is alot of trial and error to maintain locs while battling eczema!

  2. Characterized by itching rashes, eczema is a chronic skin disease that appears as skin blisters that may be crusting and oozing. Most commonly seen in infants than adults, eczema can be effectively treated using various natural techniques than going for medications that lead to further more side effects. View more http://facedoctor.over-blog.com/article-34760976.html

  3. Do you know what is the best medicine for eczema ?
    My daught had very bad eczema on his arms & legs.
    Last summer,we dip her arms in acidic water (from water ionizer) for a period of one month & the eczama disappeared.
    This summer,the eczema re-occurred & it takes a long time to cure her eczema using acidic water.
    I suggest her to put hydrogen peroxide on the surface of eczema & it recovered very soon expectedly.
    What I think is that: there is germs or bacteria that lives on the mist environment of the surface of eczema and both acidic water and hydrogn peroxide can kill those germs or bacteria on contact.
    Of course,hydrogen peroxide can kill those germs/bacteria more powerfully.

    Good Luck.
    Tony.
    香港仔時昌迷你倉

  4. I don’t know If I said it already but …Cool site, love the info. I do a lot of research online on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Tony Brown

  5. Great site, how do I subscribe?

  6. I wish I found this out before I cut my 4 yr old locs coz of my dry scalp/ezcema. They’ve been a nuisance and thought my hair would be more manageable if I had loose hair. Big mistake coz it’s taken me 2 months to finish unraveling my locs. Been having to wear a wig in hot texas weather (annoying!) and I still cant manage the ezcema without using tar shampoo which i hate. I’m going home right now to try this method and see how it goes in a month

    • How did it work out?? I’m eager to find out!

      • It did NOT work 😦 My eczema actually got worse and now it covers my entire scalp rather than in patches from before.

        I wanna attribute it to sweat from working out and not washing immediately but I don’t know. I’m back to using tar shampoo and will be seeing a dermatologist about it.

      • Everyone’s scalp is different in some way, form, or fashion. If this didn’t work for you then other methods are needed. Not washing your scalp after working out can contribute to this issue since the salt in your sweat is sitting in your locs. When I workout on Tuesdays and Thursdays, I usually spray my scalp with water on Tuesdays and wash my locs on Thursdays after returning from the gym. I also use the tar shampoo for this issue. Seeing a dermatologist is the best thing you can do. If you want, post the results of what was found out at the derm’s office. You never know, other people may have the same issue and don’t know what to do. I hope it works out for you! Thanks for posting!

Leave a Reply

 
