Problems/Solutions: Thinning Locs

CowlickEveryone’s locs are different, but we all have some common problems. Like this cowlick for instance… Your hair will pick days where it wants to make you look silly. I had actually had a loc to stick straight up and my hair wasn’t even curly…yep. This is not an exclusive list on every problem you may have with your locs. Which brings to me to this point: Leave a comment about some of your common frustrations or challenges. Maybe there is something I forgot or did not know about. Either or, I would be happy to write about and/or find out more about the subject. This can help me, you, and others who visit the site. Everyone wins! So let’s get to it.


Thinning Locs

Different causes can result in thinning locs. Some of these are:

  • Overprocessing (e.g. dye)
  • Not thoroughly rinsing chemical or product out the loc(s)
  • Constantly twisting in the same spot
  • Uneven twisting
  • Hair losss
  • Scalp conditions
  • Stress
  • Poor maintenance
  • A lot of pulling/tugging at the locs
  • Rubberbands
  • Tying up your locs in the same place
  • Medication
  • Change in diet
  • Alopecia (description here)
  • Thyroid Disease (description here)
  • Seborrheic Dermatitis (description here)

Some solutions to thinning locs:

  • Deep condition the locs. After washing, be sure to return the moisture that you may have lost during the process.
  • Restrain yourself from messing with the loc(s). I know you want that bad boy to fill out, but if keep messing with the loc it’s bound to fall.
  • Try not to twist your locs as frequently; that’s including during idle time.
  • Don’t use rubberbands because they pull your hair out.
  • In regards to dying or other chemicals, read the directions on the product in its entirety. Just because you’ve read one type of product doesn’t mean you’ve read them all. Don’t use it more or keep it on longer than directed. Doing so may result in you frying the locs.
  • Frantic or even scratching your scalp a lot can result in you thinning your roots. Use oil or other types of relief for an itchy or dry scalp.
  • It does not matter if you have freeform or uniform locs, you still need to maintain your locs regularly. Locs aren’t a low maintenance hairstyle when it comes keeping  the locs healthy. This means knowing when to wash, moisturize and twist the locs. If you don’t know how, read my other maintenance tips or look at other hair sites such as Nappturality.com or sites I may have listed on the sidebar. I am willing to help!
  • YOU need to be eating right. What you eat, feeds your body. Make sure you getting the nutrition that you need.
  • Vitamins (updated 8.8.09): Again, make sure you are getting your supplements! Decreased Vitamin D levels contribute to hair loss. Start taking supplements such as omega-3 fish oil, vitamin E, daily multi-vitamin (catered to your gender), and plenty of water! Take care of yourself, love.
  • For thyroid disease/deficiency ( updated 8.8.09) visit your doctor and get medication. The medication should prevent you from losing any more hair. It may help it return.
  • Seborrheic Dermatitis (updated 8.8.09): I read that you should avoid products that have oils or petroleum/petrolatum. I noticed that a lot people where talking about using an AVC rinse. The generic terminology for AVC is Sulfanilamade.
  • Try not to pull and tug at your locs. If they’re getting in your face, tie them up for the day. Heck, try to maintain the style for two or three days if you can. If you can do it for longer, that would be awesome.
  • You are not going to see results immediately. It will take approximately, at the most, the same amount of time for your locs to recover as it took for them to thin.
  • If the loc is too thin, maybe you can join it with another loc at the root. Simply begin twisting the two roots each time you are retwisting all of your locs. I’ve done this plenty of times when my locs were younger.  Look at my video about combining locs. Scroll to the bottom of the page. (Updated 8.25.09)
  • Do not have a thick loc with a thin root. The root will not be able to support or hold the loc if this occurs. Again, combining locs will most likely help. Possibly find a loctician who can add artificial hair around the loc if it cannot be fixed this way. I have a DVD where a loctician demonstrated how, so I know it can be done.
  • Find outlets for your frustration, whether it is prayer or meditation, seeking support, being around family, a hobby, socializing, exercise, counseling, or simply relaxing. Take time out of the day to address your problems rather than worrying the whole day. If you are working a 9-5 job, tell yourself, “At 6 p.m. I will deal with this problem.” You will now have time allotted where you can focus 100% on the issue. It will make you feel  a lot better and gives you time to think freely. Who knows, a solution may arise before then!

 Questions about locs? Email me at: locd4life@yahoo.com

~ by My4tress on July 29, 2009.

7 Responses to “Problems/Solutions: Thinning Locs”

  1. Thanks for visiting my site today (agoodhairday.wordpress.com). You have great info on your site. I’ll be checking in often!

  2. Super-Duper site! I am loving it!! Will come back again – taking you feeds also, Thanks.

  3. Will be coming back to your site you have a lot of information. I have had my loc’s 3yrs now and I love them but I have one that is starting to thin. On my last visit to my loctian she knotted the loc( she does the lacth hook method )she likes me to come back every 6wks but sometimes I can’t. I was wondering what I can do to prevent the lost of this loc. When I’m not able to have her do it I twist it myself so any help you can give me will be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

    • I apologize for getting back to you so late. So many things have happened! Anyway, my advice would be to leave the loc alone as much as possible. Every six weeks is a month and 2 weeks, which is pretty good. However, at this point you want the lock to repair itself at the root. Also, you may want to find the cause of the thinning? Where exactly is it at?

  4. My loc’d hair has thinned drastically in the front and sides of my head. My hair is receding back. Is there a product I can use? or some sort of method where it’s not so noticeable? I do not put my hair in ponytails any longer. Desparately need your advise.

    • Sorry for the late reply!!
      Scalp stimulation works well. Massaging these areas with oils help blood circulation (something the skin needs) and moisture (the oil will keep hair from breaking). I don’t have a lot of information about this, but I definitely will work on getting information on it. A lot of people have been asking this question and you have sparked my interest again. Your post has not gone unnoticed, madam!!

Leave a Reply

 
