Loc Products (for the frugal – That’s me!)

 

Even though it is not up here, I love using the shampoo as well! It has menthol, which really relieves an itchy scalp.

Even though it is not up here, I love using the shampoo as well! It has menthol, which really relieves an itchy scalp.

Even though it is not up here, I love using the shampoo as well! It has menthol, which really relieves an itchy scalp. The conditioner makes your locs a little softer; however, remember it is because it leaves behind a light residue. It’s not noticeable, so don’t worry about it. The Jamaican Mango and Lime Sproil also has menthol. Believes me, it helps between washings. It gives my roots a very nice shine as well. This will be especially good if you have beginner locs. You don’t want to scratch your scalp too much because the root will unravel! If you have a nozel that doesn’t work, replace with one that simply sprays (like you use for body spray, mist…whatever). I used to use the creme wax during the beginning stages, but please be m

odest. You do not want your hair to be propellant to water. Not to mention, it can trap dirt, grime, lent, et cetera. You can learn more in the maintenance section (coming soon!)

Don't be sleeping on White Rain!

Don’t be sleeping on White Rain!            Availibility: In Wal-mart, Dollar Tree, Dollar General, just about anywhere.             Now, I know plenty of you have seen the White Rain products. Don’t lie. Maybe you aren’t, but you probably overlooked it. It is probably the cheapest stuff you will find on the shelf. However, it does a pretty good job of holding my curls.              Double prong clips (also known as duck or duckbill clips) are a big help. Hairpins stick you while you are sleep and they are tedious to put in and take out. Save yourself some time and use the clips. Not to mention, you’ll save more strands of hair.             John Frieda Collection Moisture Barrier Firm-Hold Hair Spray

…but if you don’t mind a few extra bucks for a hold like no other, you might want to purchase this holding spray from John Frieda. And yes, you ca

Organic Root Stimulator Olive Oil Sheen Spray  and African Royale...Stuff

Organic Root Stimulator Olive Oil Sheen Spray and African Royale…Stuff

Availibility: Again in Wal-mart. You know what, I’m not repeating this anymore (lol).

You can use the sheen spray to directly spray on your scalp or on your locs. I know when I started my locs it made them soft. I use the African Royale on my ends to make my hair drop from being curly. At times, I just want my locs to be straight so I can look at how much they’ve grown. It’s also good for relief and making locs temporarily soft.

Extra Virgin Olive Oil (EVO/EVOO)This is not only great for your skin, but for your locs as well.          Head Coverings

All of the coverings are satin except for the knitted beret and stocking cap.

Top left: It’s a satin cap that is like a stocking cap, except without the not. Very useful for short or beginning logs. It will keep your hair from unraveling or getting lent.

Bottom left: knitted beret. I got it from a beauty supply store. Not as simple to find. I did not find this in Wally World or any where else. It’s a really cute, inexpensive, and super quick way to look chic!

Middle: Stocking cap. Yes, you’re going to have to buy a pair of stockings for this. If you are beginning your locs or even do not want your roots to competely unravel, you can use a stocking cap in the shower. Put it on, put shampoo in your hands, and rub it on the stocking cap. I usually do it in one motion (front to back) while holding the cap so the cap won’t come off. Then again, I’m always in a hurry so you can probably do it other ways as well.

Top right: A satin night cap is excellent for when you have more mature locs or if you have recently twisted your roots. No more rapping with that satin scarf!

Bottom right: The satin scarf is great for making your locs lay flat and has the same functions of a night cap.

Glosser

Glosser

I use the glosser when I want my locs to look healthier and smoother.

Africa's Best Herbal Oil and General Applicator Bottle

Africa’s Best Herbal Oil and General Applicator Bottle

When you have younger locs, it may be a little difficult to get your scalp. The herbal oil is found just about anywhere and the applicator is found in beauty supply stores. Just open the applicator, put in the oil, and there you go. Just don’t squeeze too hard!

If you need to get those roots to stay twisted...

If you need to get those roots to stay twisted…

If you use too much it will flake. I will be adding a product that is a twist and loc gel soon that does not flake. However, that product does not hold as strong as this gel. It’s a dark gel and it blends in with my locs. Twist with this gel, leave over night with duck clips (double-prong clips) in a satin cap and you will be straight in the morning!!

Elastic Bands

As your hair grows, those small elastic bands are not going to hold your locs. These are basically skinny headbands used to hold my ponytails.

Dye

I used this dye and it did pretty well. I liked it. I also used Clairol Texture and Tones the first time around. Neither fried my hair and locs stayed healthy!

If you have the the time and patience

If you have the the time and patience

I use these to get curls, preferrably after washing my hair. I dry my hair, but my locs are still slightly damp when I use the perm rods. If I remember, I will spray my scalp with the Jamaican Sproil and my locs with the White Rain before putting the on the rods.

Pantene Clarifying Shampoo

Pantene Clarifying Shampoo

Now that I have more mature locs, I use the Pantene Clarifying Shampoo. It’s fairly inexpensive, found in Wally World (I said I wasn’t going to say that anymore). It’s refreshing, lathers well, and doesn’t make my locs feel stiff. Good stuff.

Works pretty well. Nice shine, not really heavy. It cost like $4.99 from Wal-Mart. It smells really good, too! I get a lot of compliments about my hair smelling nice with this product.

Add to Technorati Favorites

~ by My4tress on July 24, 2009.

2 Responses to “Loc Products (for the frugal – That’s me!)”

  1. I just wanted to know what is a good way to tie locs down, I use a satin scarf which most of the time comes off in my sleep which causes my hair to stick up in the morning 😦

    • Oh yes! That happens a lot! I’m guessing you have fairly young locs and would be able to benefit from something like a stocking cap then cover with scarf if you would like (I used to do this because (a) I was a wild sleeper (b) to make sure that my locs stayed tucked throughout the night and (c) that if my scarf came off at least the stocking cap was there!). Hope that helps! Let me know what happens!

Leave a Reply

 
